Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “Why I’m Glad We Don’t Have a Woman President

  1. Rebeca, I think both you and the author of the article made some good points. I understand why Fiona took the stance that she did, and while I might not completely agree, I think it would be harder for a female president right now, as the tensions over issues like abortion and domestic violence might escalate if a woman were making the decisions. I think it makes it easier for people, especially more conservative people, to accept the changes made if it’s a man making them because they feel less overwhelmed by change. However, I think Rebeca is right in saying a female president would be able to handle the controversy, and her point of view might aid in resolving some of these issues.

  2. I disagree with the author of the post. Her argument seems weak, and I agree with you-the presidency being a difficult job does not seem like a good enough reason to not hope for a woman president. The author painted Obama as a feminist idol, yet she implied that a woman president could not be a feminist idol in the same way. I think this is silly. If a woman wants to run for office, she knows it will be difficult and she knows she will be criticized. To me, this “protect the ladies” sentiment feels old fashioned and not at all progressive or feminist.

    • It’s just plain frustrating. I think that the underlying message of what Fiona is saying is that women are just too emotional for the job. I think that what she’s really saying is that it would be “more difficult” for a woman to handle the presidency because she would be influenced by her emotions. First, just because women have emotions doesn’t mean that they always act on them, and second, can we please start moving away from the “women have too many feelings” argument for everything and realize that women have just as much common sense as men? I do see Fiona’s point though- there is a fear that having a woman as president would not only throw the whole nation into shock, but her presidency might end up being defined by whatever “feminist” issue she decides to take on. But I agree with Rebeca, we can’t just rule out having a woman president just because of what MIGHT happen. The only way for us to move away from these stereotypes is to experience having a woman in office. Then, maybe, people will stop hypothesizing and start giving women some credit.

Leave a Reply

